It’s Amazing What You Can Do With Painters Tape…….

Like use it to attach trim to walls ๐Ÿ™‚

OK, so change of plans today as Les had to go into the office (hopefully it will be a good thing) so no gutter removal or power washing is happening today therefore I thought I would post my new dilemma………………..window placement………………again.

So I was watching one of the design shows on HGTV and it got me thinking about our new designated dining area. ย You see, currently we do not have a dining room in our home (remember we are a tiny home) but once Les removes the load bearing wall (yes you read that correctly a load bearing wall !!!) and installs a header we will be moving the sofa and TV to face the view (see the previous post on window placement) and therefore giving us an area for a dining table – albeit a small dining table – that will be able to seat at least 4 people. ย Now onto my new thought (it’s not really a dilemma) – if I move the window over it might define the space more clearly so I wanted to see what it might look like if it lined up with the wall that has to/is staying therefore giving a perfectly (well the term perfectly is all relative here) rectangular space. ย  We will probably be using trim about the size of the trim in the photo (maybe even the trim shown in the photo) so I wanted to be able to stand back and see if it will be better than where I had originally planned for the window to go – but how to do that ??? ย I know – painters tape ๐Ÿ™‚

This is where the dining “room” will be – it currently holds the TV…………..

And here you can see what I mean when I say line the window up with the wall that is staying to make it a perfectly rectangular space….

I think I am 100% convinced that this is the right thing to do – I only moved the window over by 6″ but it will be visually much better and have more of a symmetrical feel to it – what do you think ????

I keep going back to the question – does everyone go through this – soooo many mistakes could have been made – well maybe “mistakes” is the wrong term, small changes that could have been made here and there in the planning stages, that would make for a much better and at times useable space – anywhere from wall space for pictures to be better balanced to defining areas better. ย I never thought that 6″ could make a difference (OK, that sounded really rude……..don’t go there people, don’t go ย  ย  ย  there ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Hopefully tomorrow we pick up windows and patio furniture as they should have been cleared through Customs – wish us luck and stay tuned.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Amazing What You Can Do With Painters Tape…….

  1. Margo says:

    Ok, so let me understand… you’re thinking of moving the right window to the left in line with the piece of moulding taped to the wall? And then the sofa will have it’s back to us facing the windows? Where will the bookcase be? ๐Ÿ˜•

  2. Waterguy says:

    Les Is a saint I’d take your painters tape away. LOL

  3. Coden says:

    I get it, I think…where the little pieces of painters tape is, to the left of the windows, is where you want to move the windows down to? Moving them makes the windows line up with the walls better?
    I say go for it! Good luck, Les!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment